Being Alone, and Being Lonely

Wilona’s always been my favorite Good Times‘ character. Now I know why.

You gotta watch this clip.

After my 10 hour “nap”, I click on the TV. I stumble across this Good Times‘ episode, “The Matchmaker” from 1974, where Florida, feeling bad for Wilona’s single, sad, husband-less life, tries to hook her up.

In response, Wilona offers this great speach on being single that, sadly, is as relevant today as it was 36 years ago. Frankly, it scares me that Black, Single, and Female has been a conversation on the table this long. Kinda makes me wonder if my efforts to change the perspective will be as totally in vain as Wilona’s.

Anyway, in case you can’t watch the video, Wilona’s soliloqy is as follows:

You make it seem like the life I have is so bad. Florida, this may come as a shock to you, honey, but i got a good life and I’m enjoying myself. Where is it written that every woman has got to be married or she’s a nobody? It’s really funny. A man over 30 who’s unmarried, the world calls him a swinger. A woman over 30 who’s unmarried? They call her an old maid. Now, I’m not knocking families and kids, but that is just not my bag…. there are different strokes for different follks, that’s all.

Please don’t worry about me ’cause I am fine. I’m alone sometimes, but there’s a big difference between being alone and being lonely.

And the one thing I ain’t, is lonely.

Leave a Reply

